top of page

Accepting your body.

Hi everyone! Welcome back to Motivation Monday, today we're going to be discussing body acceptance and how to love you body. If you don't know me, I'm a 19 year old plus size girl. I wear usually a size 16 in dresses, which definitely puts me in the plus size category. I've always been a little more on the bigger side and have gained about 20 lbs. over the past 2 years. My relationship transitioned to seeing my boyfriend everyday at high school to him moving 2 hours away to college, therefore only seeing him once a month. As you can imagine, this was super difficult for me, and I went to food as my comfort. When I was stressed, I ate. When I was bored, I ate. When I was tired, I ate. I always found comfort in food, and this added up.

Since then, I've gained more stretch marks, cellulite, a more round face, and much more. Though I was gaining weight, my self worth was diminishing. Even though I've gained weight, my boyfriend still loves me just as much as Savannah 20 pounds lighter. Though I would definitely love to work on my weight and tone my stomach and arms, I can still work towards that and still loving my body. Just because you work out and eat healthier doesn't mean you hate your body and want to change everything. It means that you love your body and want to take care of it. You want to improve yourself to be the healthier and the best "you" that you can be. Loving yourself somedays can almost seem impossible when you don't fit into those jeans like you used to, you have a breakout, or just feel terrible.

Ways to make the baby steps to self acceptance are very simple. Look into the mirror every morning and just pick one thing that you like about yourself. It can be your smile, eye color, your body type, your kind spirit, anything that you love about yourself. And tell that to yourself over and over again. Put sticky notes on your mirror to see every time you pass by it. Soon, you will hear this all the time in your head and slowly but surely, you'll start to believe it. Being kind to yourself and respecting your body is so vital. Sometimes, we can say the most awful and nasty things to ourselves.

Now, imagine you looking at the 6 year-old version of yourself and tell her all the awful things you tell yourself. You would NEVER tell a little girl that she's fat, ugly, unloveable, and unworthy of happiness. So why are you any different? Treat your body and soul as a prized possession because it is. Respect your skin, your heart, your mental health, and take care of yourself. Not because you feel like you have to, but because you want to and you feel like you deserve better.


Thank you so much for visiting my Motivation Monday post! I hope you have an excellent week!

- Savannah



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page